POE Advanced


  • Is a 5-6 day event organized by a local AGO chapter under the sponsorship of the national organization. It provides a higher level of pipe organ instruction and intense course study.
  • Is for students entering grades 9 through 12, who have achieved a high level of success in organ study. They must submit an audition recording and other supporting materials in order to apply to the POEA.
  • Provides an opportunity for students to have individual instruction in pipe organ technique and performance with an artist faculty.
  • Provides intermediate to advanced classes in areas such as organ literature, history, pipe organ construction and design, music theory, improvisation, conducting, and service playing.
  • Most of all, provides a unique opportunity for participants to meet and interact with peers who have similar interests.
2019 Pipe Organ Encounter – Advanced (for young organists entering grades 9 through 12 in the fall of 2019)

June 23-28
Houston, Texas
Houston Chapter
Director: Daryl Robinson
1117 Texas Ave.
Houston, TX 77002
(713) 743-7316

pdf-large-typeHouston POEA Brochure (coming soon)



To submit an application to attend a Pipe Organ Encounter Advanced, please click HERE after Nov. 1, 2018.

To submit a Teacher Recommendation form, please click HERE after Nov. 1, 2018.

Pipe Organ Encounter Scholarship Assistance

PLEASE NOTE: The 2018 Scholarship Application period is closed.
Please click HERE for information on POE Scholarships.


Pipe Organ Encounters is an educational outreach program of the American Guild of Organists. Major funding for Pipe Organ Encounters is provided by the Associated Pipe Organ Builders of America. Additional support is provided by the American Institute of Organbuilders, the Jordan Organ Endowment, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Permanently endowed AGO scholarships are provided in memory of Charlene Brice Alexander, Robert S. Baker, Seth Bingham, Michael Cohen, Margaret R. Curtin, Clarence Dickinson, Virgil Fox, Philip Hahn, Charles N. Henderson, Alfred E. Lunsford, Ruth Milliken, Bruce Prince-Joseph, Douglas Rafter, Ned Siebert, Mary K. Smith, and Martin M. Wick; and in honor of Anthony Baglivi, Philip E. Baker, Gordon and Naomi Rowley, Fred Swann, Morgan and Mary Simmons, and the Leupold Foundation.