AGO Student Commissioning Project

The AGO Student Commissioning Project is the AGO’s most recent new music venture. Grants of $1,000 are awarded to four collaborative composer-and-organist pairs for the composition and performance of four new works for the organ. In the fall as the academic year begins, each pair will submit a joint application describing a proposed work and its performance. There are no restrictions with regard to compositional style. All composers and organists must be enrolled as full- or part-time students at an accredited U.S. college, university, or conservatory. Award: Four grants of $1,000 will be awarded each year to four composer and organist pairs by the AGO Committee on New Music.

2018-19 Student Commissioning Project Guildelines

Meet one of the 2017-18 student composer-organist pairs.
2017-18 John Lempke and Karen Taylor
2017-18 Joshua Malavé and Josh Ring

Past Student Commissioning Projects
2016-17 Alex Umfleet – Carina Sturdy
2016-17 Jonathan Cziner – Colin MacKnight
2015-16 Hon Ki Cheung – Alexander Meszler
2014-15 George Katehis – Alexander Meszler

Committee on New Music
Louise Mundinger, MM, Director  Email
David J. Hurd, Jr., MusD  Email
Carol Feather Martin, MM Email
Alexander Meszler, MM  Email

Eileen Hunt, AAGO, DMA, ex officio (Vice President/Councillor for Competitions and New Music)  Email

AGO Headquarters Email