New Music Competitions & Commissions

Competitions for new music are an important part of the Guild’s commitment to the future of organ and choral music. The  competitions below are conducted in cooperation with the AGO Committee on New Music and the donors as approved by the National Council.

The Committee on New Music has developed new procedures for the 2016 awards. Seeking to draw on particular individual strengths, the committee has developed a procedure wherein composers submit proposals for commission rather than compose for stipulated criteria. For more information see the AGO/Marilyn Mason, AGO/ECS, and Pogorzelski-Yankee sections. For further information contact AGO National Headquarters by email or phone: or 212-870-2311, ext. 4318.

Listen to the winning compositions from past competitions.

Committee on New Music

Eileen Hunt, DMA, AAGO, Director
195 Taunton Road
Fairfield, CT 06824
H: 203-256-1749
W: 203-227-2728, ext. 103

Randall Harlow, DMA
UNI School of Music
115 Russell Hall
Cedar Falls, IA 50614
319- 273-6326

Katie Burk, Task Force for Young Organists