AGO New Music Commissions

AGO Commissioned Pieces

In addition to the AGO’s new music competitions, the American Guild of Organists has commissioned numerous pieces which have been premiered at the biennial national conventions as well as at regional or chapter events. The variety of commissioned compositions reflects the Guild’s ongoing support of new music for the organ.  Contact AGO Headquarters for any additions or updates to the list below.

2018 AGO National Convention Kansas City, Missouri

Pamela Decker – 2018 Distinguished Composer Award The Seven Last Words and Triumph of Christ
Benjamin Cornelius-Bates Sonata No. 1
Emma Lou Diemer Remembering
Thierry Escaich Quatre Visages du Temps
Frank Ferko Cartes Postales de la Guerre (Postcards from the War)
Anthony Maglione The Wedding of Solomon
Forrest Pierce Mirror Cantata
Sir James MacMillan Everyone Sang
Cecilia McDowall O Antophon Sequence
Tarik O’Regan As One
Rosephanye Powell Walk with Me, Lord
Jean-Baptiste Robin The Hands of Time
Chen Yi Totem Poles

2016 AGO National Convention Houston, Texas

Emma Lou Diemer Hommage to Bach and Widor
Eric Ewazen Rhapsody and Fugue for Brass Quintet and Organ
Adolphus Hailstork Lenten Mourning Tears
Naji Subhy Paul Irénée Hakim Fandango for organ solo
Luke Mayernik Rêverie
David Ashley White – 2016 Distinguished Composer Award With a Shining like the Sun
Joan Tower Power Dance
Zachary Wadsworth Earthquake

2014 AGO National Convention Boston, Massachusetts

Carol Barnett March to Glory for organ solo
Lisa Bielawa Neumark Dances for organ solo
Carson Cooman Solstice Sonata for trumpet and organ
Pamela Decker Faneuil Hall for organ solo
Libby Larsen – 2014 Distinguished Composer Award Eternal Ruler of the Ceaseless Round for SATB chorus and organ
David Lasky Prelude on ‘Picardy’
Matthew Martin O Be Joyful in the Lord for SATB chorus and organ
Nico Muhly Patterns for organ solo
Betty Olivero Lo Ira Ra (I Will Fear Not Evil) for mixed chorus, accordion, clarinet, harp and piano
Scott Perkins Benedictus for SATB chorus and organ
Robert Sirota Apparitions for organ and string quartet
Hillary Tann Embertides for organ solo
Edward Thompson Prayers of Hildegard for SATB chorus and marimba
James Woodman Eight Little Harmonies and Counterpoints for organ solo

 2012 AGO National Convention Nashville, Tennessee

Diana Burrell Phos for organ, percussion, and cello
David Conte Psalm of Praise (Psalm 100) Eleanor Daley Fill Us Lord
Craig Phillips 2012 Distinguished Composer Award Three Sketches for Organ (Awakening, Midnight Dance, Fête)
Rosephanye Powell The Cry of Jeremiah for choir chamber orchestra and organ
Roberto Sierra Organ Concerto

2010 AGO National Convention Washington, D.C.

Mary Beth Bennett Great Voice of God (Vox Dei)
Rihards Dubra  for choir, brass ensemble, and organ
David Hurd – 2010 Distinguished Composer Award Three Psalms for choir and two organs
Rachel Laurin Fantasia for organ and harp
Leo Nestor Joy! Because the Circling Year for choir and organ
Bruce Neswick O Risen Christ, Still Wounded
Dorothy Papadakos La Petite Sweet for organ and jazz ensemble
Craig Phillips Sojourn for organ and winds
Phil Snedecor Hymn Tune Arrangements
Gwyneth Walker Sanctuary for organ solo

2008 AGO National Convention Twin Cities, Minnesota

Stephen Paulus – 2008 Distinguished Composer Award
Judith Bingham Jacob’s Ladder for organ with strings
Aaron Kernis The Love of God for solo organ
Libby Larsen He Rose: Fanfare for Easter for organ and brass quartet
Jakko Mantyjarvi And Hit a World, at Every Plunge for solo organ
Steven Stucky The Kingdom of God
The Minnesota Organ Book

2006 AGO National Convention Chicago, Illinois

Frank Ferko Livre d’orgue for organ solo
Adolphus Hailstork Three Studies on Chant Melodies
Naji Hakim Capriccio for organ and violin
Aaron David Miller Sleepy Hollow – a tone poem for organ and orchestra
Emily Maxson Porter People, Look East for choir and organ
Richard Proulx 2006 Distinguished Composer Award Choral Anthem with obbligato instrument
Shulamit Ran Hallel for organ solo
Augusta Read Thomas  Angel Tears and Earth Prayers for organ and trumpet
Julian Wachner Organ Concerto
Richard Webster Choral Anthem with obbligato instrument
Sharon Willis The AGO Celebration Suite for Organ for organ solo
Carl Wiltse Lyric Piece for organ and handbells

Committee on New Music

Louise Mundinger, MM, Director  Email
David J. Hurd, Jr., MusD  Email
Carol Feather Martin, MM Email
Alexander Meszler, MM  Email

Eileen Hunt, AAGO, DMA, ex officio (Vice President/Councillor for Competitions and New Music)  Email
AGO Headquarters Email