Vox Humana: Reconstructing Bach’s Organ Concertos

Matthew Dirst, Professor of Music at the University of Houston, Artistic Director of Ars Lyrica Houston, and Organist at St. Philip Presbyterian Church, discusses his reconstructions of Bach's concertos for organ, and his new recording of these fascinating works. Read Vox Humana. … [Read more...]

October 2019 TAO Feature Article

Covenant Presbyterian Church Scranton, Pennsylvania Patrick J. Murphy & Associates Stowe, Pennsylvania View the Stop List By Patrick J. Murphy The major renovation of this three-manual, 37-stop organ at Covenant Presbyterian Church recasts the existing 1960s-era Schlicker with a new Swell division, revoiced fluework, new chorus reeds, and a new PJM signature console. This follows what is now a typical project that retains the best of an organ’s existing assets, instilling new musical life within a given instrument with “good bones.” The project presented an opportunity to demonstrate what can be accomplished when everyone involved works together toward a common goal. Long held as the Scranton family … [Read more...]

Meet the 2019 AGO/Quimby Regional Competitions for Young Organists Winners

The 2019 AGO/Quimby Regional Competitions for Young Organists concluded this summer at the seven regional conventions. Each of the young organists below was awarded the First Prize in their region. Look for them at the 2020 AGO National Convention in Atlanta where they will perform as the AGO’s Rising Stars. Top row, left to right: Eddie Zheng, Northeast – Nicholas Stigall, Southeast – Michael Caraher, North Central – Amber Dahlberg, West Bottom row, left to right: Luke Brennan, Mid-Atlantic –Noah Klein, Great Lakes – Martin Jones, Southwest   … [Read more...]

Welcome New Members, August 2019

AGO is proud to welcome these new members in August, 2019. Mr. Eber Beck, Jr. Ms. Paula Dyches Ms. Kim Jones Hari Bayani Mrs. Kyung Hee Kim Frederick Proulx, III Erin Blake Burkard Schliessmann Michael Simpson Kevin Gray Kelly Sharp Dolores Hicks Chesna Anderson Mr. Jacob Dawson Ms. Robyn Fawson Ms. Cindy Galbraith Mr. Jason J. Volovar Cathi Swanson Dean Wagner Mrs. Michele A. Bynum Molly Berghout Emily E. Bavaro Jeanne Elmuccio Mr. Nelson Cox Ms. Gabrielle Marie Nervesa Mr. Owen Salter Mr. Donovin Joseph Tavares Matthew C. Cremisio Vincent V. Pham Mr. Samuel J. Grosskreuz Dr. Raphael Bundage Mr. John J. Kosch Catherine S. Wilson Mr. Stephen J. Dierkes Mr. Ryan Haynie Sun Chang John W. Spain Dr. James … [Read more...]

July 2019: Welcome AGO New Members

AGO is proud to welcome these new members in July, 2019. Nicholas Abelgore Mark Acker Michael L. Anderson Kevin Bailey Beverly Bankert Elena Baquerizo JaNae Barnes Martha Bates Jo Berg Alan D. Bondzio Stephen Brown Jean Bryan Stephan Burton William H. Cavuti Szu-Ping Chang Quinton Corwin Jennifer Coulson Maggie Dollar Kristina Driscoll Mary Jane Driscoll Wanda Drozdovitch Jessica Eaton Klaus Goerke Rosemary H. Good Robert W. Griswell-Lowry Anastasia Gross Rosemary Guiney Marietta T. Hardy Kevin Harris Katherine Harris Lance Harvey Sharon Heinrich Mary Hirst Denise Howey Matthew C. Janssen Jaana Jokimies Randy Jones Mark P. Martin Katherine Mayfield Deanna Mellott Lorraine J. Miller Julie … [Read more...]

The AGO Needs Your Input. Take the AGO Strategic Planning Survey!

A comprehensive and vitally important new strategic planning survey is being distributed to all Guild members following each regional convention. The National Council enthusiastically encourages everyone to participate. The results will be analyzed by our strategic planning consultants and presented to Guild leaders in seven discrete regional webinars. Findings from the survey will help the National Council set future priorities for the Guild. Please complete the online survey when it arrives in your Inbox after your region’s convention. (Questions about your regional convention will be available for those who attended one.) If the survey does not arrive in your Inbox immediately following the Regional Convention in your region, please … [Read more...]

Don’t Miss Out: Renew Your AGO Dues Today

Is your membership up for renewal? Your AGO membership keeps your informed, connects you with other organists and shares job opportunities. Don’t miss the next issue of TAO. Ready to Renew Now? Use the ONCARD Login … [Read more...]

Acoustics in the Age of Frescobaldi and Fantini

Shelby Lewis discusses the acoustics of an Italian villa that may have been the venue of the legendary 1634 organ-trumpet concert by Frescobaldi and Girolamo Fantini. Read on Vox Humana … [Read more...]

Historic Organ Restoration in the Americas

In this new article on Vox Humana, Susan Tattershall discusses her work restoring organs in Mexico, Bolivia, and the West Indies, and engaging local communities in the process. Read Vox Humana … [Read more...]

Organists Ponder Fate and Future of Notre Dame’s Organ

Link … [Read more...]