AGOYO North Central Region Young Composers Competition

Meet the winners:

Top left: Christopher LaRosa, Second Place, Falcon 9
Top right: Kyle Shaw, Honorable Mention Toccata for organ
Middle left: Ryan Croyle, Honorable Mention Trumpet Flourish
Middle right: Edward Landin, Honorable Mention Psalm Prelude
Bottom left: Aleksander Jan Szopa, First Place Fantasia “Veni Sancte Spiritus”

First Place ($1,000) and Second Place ($500)  The competition is open to individuals under 30 years of age as of August 31,2017  regardless of nationality or current residence.  AGO membership is not required for individuals living in the United States, however, individuals living outside the United States must be members of the AGO. Each applicant must submit one original composition for organ solo of approximately 3 to 6 minutes in duration.  Premiered and/or published compositions (or arrangements) are not permitted, however, pieces that have had performances in academic situations only, are permitted.

Prizes of $1,000 and $500 will be awarded to the 1st and 2nd place compositions; three honorable mentions were  also announced.  All the prize winning and honorable mention compositions above will be performed at the American Guild of Organists North Central Regional Convention in Iowa City, IA on June 20, 2017.

Competition rules. All required materials were submitted electronically via the online application accessible from this page.  The application deadline was March 10, 2017.

For more information contact North Central Region AGOYO.