Wayne Hobbs Scholarship

photo: Dwight Pounds

The American Guild of Organists is honored to announce the creation of the Wayne Hobbs Scholarship. Established by his family after his death in April, 2019, the scholarship is sheltered by the AGO New Organist Fund and will be awarded annually to a young person attending an AGO Pipe Organ Encounter. Contributions in memory of Wayne Hobbs, former music department chairman at Texas Tech and Western Kentucky University, are invited.

Printable Contribution Form

The AGO New Organist Fund was established in 1993 to support Guild programs dedicated to developing a new generation of organists. Inaugural contributions to this fund were made in honor of three extraordinary leaders of the Guild: M. Searle Wright, fago; Roberta Bitgood, fago, chm; and Leslie P. Spelman, fago. Today, the New Organist Fund shelters both permanently restricted gifts to named scholarships, and restricted gifts for the support and development of new organists. Each year, this fund provides scholarship assistance for talented Pipe Organ Encounters participants. Many young, aspiring organists benefit from this fund each year, some who otherwise would be unable to attend a POE.

The American Guild of Organists is an organization described in section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Contributions to the AGO are 100% tax deductible to the fullest extent provided by law.

Contribution levels are as follows:

Benefactor ($1,000+)
Sponsor ($500-999)
Patron ($250-499)
Donor ($100-249)
Sustaining Member ($50-99)
Contributor ($25-49)
Friend ($1-24)


Read the full obituary here.

Speak Your Mind